• Varna and Jati: Varna and Jati are two distinct but related systems of social stratification found in traditional Indian society. Varna refers to the four main social classes, or castes, which are traditionally:
    • Brahmins (priests and scholars)
    • Kshatriyas (warriors and rulers)
    • Vaishyas (merchants and traders)
    • Shudras (laborers and service providers)

    These varnas were originally based on a person’s aptitude and occupation. Outside of these four varnas were the Dalits, formerly referred to as “untouchables,” who were often marginalized and assigned menial tasks.

    Jati, on the other hand, refers to numerous sub-castes or occupational groups within each varna. Jati is more localized and reflects endogamous social groups, based on professions and traditional occupations. Jati identities contribute significantly to social interaction and marriage practices in Indian society.

    Though officially abolished in modern India, varna and jati systems’ influences continue to impact social dynamics, especially in rural areas. Efforts have been made to address social inequalities arising from these systems and promote social justice and inclusivity.

    Download IGNOU BSOG-171 Study Material: To assist in the preparation of the IGNOU BSOG-171 SOLVED ASSIGNMENT 2023-24, students can access the study material provided by IGNOU. The study material offers valuable insights, references, and examples related to the course topics.

    You may also like...

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    error: Content is protected !!