Free IGNOU BPSE-145 Solved Assignment 2023-2024

Are you an IGNOU student pursuing the BPSE-145 course? Do you find yourself in search of BPSE-145 study materials, solved assignments 2023-2024, or question papers in Hindi? Look no further! In this comprehensive guide, we will explore how you can access free BPSE-145 resources, including solved assignments for 2023-2024, from the trusted source – Guffo. Additionally, we will delve into the significance of BPSE-145 and its study materials.

Free IGNOU BPSE-145 Solved Assignment 2023-2024 –

Answer the following in about 500 words each. Each question carries 20 marks.

1. Explain special provisions in the Constitution of India for the Northeast region.

The Northeast region of India is characterized by its unique geographical, cultural, and social diversity. To address the specific needs and aspirations of the people living in this region, the Constitution of India contains several special provisions. These provisions aim to safeguard the rights and promote the development of the Northeastern states. In this essay, we will explore four crucial special provisions: the Sixth Schedule, Inner Line Permit, Articles 371 A to 371 C, and Articles 371 F to 371 H, as well as the classification of some Northeastern states as Special Category States (SCS).
  1. The Sixth Schedule: The Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution provides a distinct administrative framework for certain tribal areas in the Northeast. It currently covers the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram. Under this schedule, these areas are divided into autonomous district councils and autonomous regional councils. The key provisions are as follows:

a. Autonomous District Councils (ADCs): These councils are responsible for local administration, including matters related to land, forests, and justice. The ADCs have legislative and executive powers, allowing them to make laws on various subjects specified in the Sixth Schedule.

b. Autonomous Regional Councils (ARCs): ARCs are established in states where there is a concentration of tribal population. These councils have limited legislative powers and primarily focus on cultural and social development.

c. Protection of Land and Rights: The Sixth Schedule safeguards the land rights and customary laws of tribal communities. It prevents the transfer of tribal land to non-tribals and ensures the preservation of indigenous customs.

  1. Inner Line Permit (ILP): The Inner Line Permit system is a regulatory mechanism that restricts the entry of outsiders into certain areas of the Northeast. It is primarily enforced in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, and Mizoram. Under this system, individuals from other states require a special permit to enter and stay in these regions. The ILP aims to protect the cultural, social, and demographic integrity of these states by regulating the inflow of non-residents.
  2. Articles 371 A to 371 C and Articles 371 F to 371 H: These articles provide special provisions for specific states in the Northeast, addressing their unique historical and cultural contexts:

a. Article 371 A (Nagaland): It grants Nagaland a special status, preserving its existing laws and customs. It also mandates that the Governor of Nagaland must have a special responsibility for law and order in the state.

b. Article 371 B (Assam): This article provides safeguards for the cultural, social, and economic interests of Assam’s tribal communities. It allows the President to make regulations for the peace and good governance of these areas.

c. Article 371 C (Manipur): It offers certain protections to Manipur, including its legislative assembly’s composition and powers concerning tribal areas in the state.

d. Articles 371 F to 371 H (Sikkim): These articles provide unique provisions for Sikkim, which became a part of India in 1975. They preserve Sikkim’s special status and autonomy in various spheres, including the legislative assembly’s composition and powers.

  1. Special Category States (SCS): Historically, the northeastern states have faced economic and infrastructural challenges due to their geographical isolation and difficult terrain. To address these issues, some Northeastern states have been classified as Special Category States (SCS). While there is no explicit constitutional provision for SCS, the National Development Council (NDC) uses criteria like hilly and difficult terrain, low population density, and strategic location to grant special financial assistance to these states. The SCS status enables these states to receive preferential treatment in terms of central assistance and funding for development projects.

Conclusion: The special provisions in the Indian Constitution for the Northeast region reflect the government’s commitment to preserving the unique cultural, social, and geographical characteristics of this area. The Sixth Schedule, Inner Line Permit system, Articles 371 A to 371 C, and Articles 371 F to 371 H, along with the Special Category States status, collectively contribute to the region’s development while respecting its diversity and autonomy. These provisions play a crucial role in ensuring that the Northeastern states can chart their own path of progress while remaining an integral part of the Indian Union.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!